NMGenWeb logo     San Miguel County    USGenWeb logo                   

San Miguel del Bado Church
San Miguel del Bado Church
Photo by Henrietta Martinez Christmas

Welcome to San Miguel County!

San Miguel county was originally created by the Republic of Mexico in 1844, and designated in 1852 as one of the nine original counties by the New Mexico territorial legislature. Its original name was San Miguel del Bado, which was then one of the area's oldest communities, and it became the county seat. The county seat was moved to Las Vegas in 1864.

San Miguel county's natural beauty consists of mountains and valleys, mesas and canyons, marshes and green belts...some of the most beautiful and unique landscapes in the state.

San Miguel County Coordinator: Angela Lewis

Co-Coordinator (Webmaster): Susan Bellomo

State Coordinator: Susan Bellomo
Assistant State Coordinator: Leon Moya